Camille Rankine


From This Means War (Issue #55)



Dear patriot

Dear catastrophe

None of this means what we thought it did


Dear bone fragments

Dear displacement

Dear broken skin

I am in over my head


Dear prisoner

Dear, dear wounded

You have earned our respect


Dear glad hands, curbed dog

Dear perfect object

The same night awaits us


Dear put upon

The day folds over and begins again


Dear bad animal

Dear caged thing

There was something about you



Camille Rankine  first full-length collection of poetry, Incorrect Merciful Impulses was published by Copper Canyon Press in January 2016. She is also the author of the chapbook Slow Dance with Trip Wire, selected by Cornelius Eady for the Poetry Society of America’s 2010 New York Chapbook Fellowship. The recipient of a 2010 “Discovery”/Boston Review Poetry Prize and a finalist for The Poetry Foundation’s 2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship, she was featured as an emerging poet in the fall 2010 issue of American Poet and the April 2011 issue of O, The Oprah Magazine.