The Skunks

ISBN:
9781959030614
Pub Date:
05/07/2024
List Price:
$17.95
ISBN:
9781959030676
Pub Date:
05/07/2024
List Price:
$17.95

“Who knew a quarter-life crisis could be so engaging and delightful? Who knew Skunks were so charming and thoughtful? This book passed like a dream.”—Associated Press

“A hilarious look at post-grad life and the loneliness, uncertainty, and occasional joy that comes with it.”TIME, a Best Book of May

“Charming. . . . earnest. . . . [Readers] will be moved by the authenticity of Isabel’s reflections.”—The New York Times

Reminiscent of Elif Batuman and Sally Rooney, Fiona Warnick’s precise and tender prose captures the formative moments of a young woman’s life, from the slow burn of a new crush to the swish of a skunk’s tail. 

Dear Skunks, I wrote. Then I got stuck. What was there to say about the skunks? Of course there was the smell—the spraying. Everyone’s mind jumped to the spraying. I often forgot about the spraying entirely, which was nice because it made me feel that I wasn’t like other people.

From the outside, Isabel doesn’t seem to have much going on. It’s the summer after college graduation and she’s moved back to her hometown, where she spends her days house-sitting, babysitting, working the front desk at a yoga studio, and hanging out with her childhood friend Ellie. But on the inside, Isabel’s mind is always running, always analyzing, and right now, she’s trying hard to not let her thoughts give weight to boys. So when Isabel spots three baby skunks in the yard, their presence is not only a strangely thrilling break from the expected, it feels like a fortuitous sign from the universe. Skunks. That’s what she should be thinking about.

As the summer unfolds, Isabel becomes increasingly preoccupied with the skunks, while also navigating her various jobs and an ambiguous relationship with Eli, the son of the couple she’s house-sitting for. In her own life and in the imagined inner lives of the skunks, Isabel ponders the nature of existence, love vs. infatuation, and the many small moments that make us animal, make us human. The Skunks is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about the complexities of crushes, desire, friendship, and modern life.

Praise

  • Charming. . . . earnest. . . . [Readers] will be moved by the authenticity of Isabel’s reflections.

    —The New York Times Book Review

  • The Skunks is a hilarious look at post-grad life and the loneliness, uncertainty, and occasional joy that comes with it.

    —TIME, A Best Book of May

  • Who knew a quarter-life crisis could be so engaging and delightful? Who knew Skunks were so charming and thoughtful? This book passed like a dream.

    —Associated Press

  • Charming and amusing. . . . an intriguing narrative that will inspire readers to rediscover their own fondness for the strangely ordinary parts of life.

    —Booklist

  • Thoughtful, tenderhearted. . . . Through Isabel, we see the thrilling scope of youthful possibility.

    —Kirkus Reviews

  • Trying to make sense of what it means to be back home after college and feeling not quite grown up but not quite a child, Fiona Warnick explores this odd in-between.

    —Barnes & Noble, A Most Anticipated Debut of 2024

  • A breath of fresh air.

    —Debutiful, A Most Anticipated Debut of 2024

  • A thoughtful and warm-hearted ode to the end of adolescence. . . . A coming-of-age literary gem.

    —Shelf Awareness

  • For fans of Elif Batuman and Sally Rooney.

    —Purewow

  • For lovers of Sally Rooney, meet your new favorite author! A gorgeous coming-of-age story about love, desire, friendship, ambition, and modern life.

    —Summer Says

  • A gorgeous coming of age story about love, desire, friendship, ambition, and modern life.

    —Denver Public Library

  • The Skunks is a gleaming, zany little gem—a novel that perfectly captures the weirdness of being young and just out of college, and not sure what comes next. Compassionate, quirky, and beautifully written, I adored it.

    —Annie Hartnett, author of Rabbit Cake and Unlikely Animals

  • A sly, graceful ode to the natural world, to the gray areas of human relationships, to love, to friendship, and to stories, The Skunks captivated me from the first page and kept on surprising me til the very end.

    —Jenny Fran Davis, author of Dykette

  • Brimming with charm and philosophical humor, The Skunks sweeps readers into a young woman’s first foray into adulthood. This is a novel that asks big questions of friendship, romantic firsts, and finding one’s way in the world. Prepare to be dazzled—Fiona Warnick is a wunderkind.

    —Allegra Hyde, author of The Last Catastrophe

  • One summer can change everything in The Skunks. A relatable and heartwarming capture of that pivotal coming of age moment in early adulthood when the world is demanding you make declarations about who you are, but you aren’t quite sure yet. Warnick gets at the pangs of awkward encounters, the trials of returning to your hometown, and most of all, finding love within yourself. An inventive new novel that ensures you’ll never think of skunks the same way. A joy to read.

    —Chelsea Bieker, author of Godshot and Heartbroke