Kiss Me Someone

ISBN:
978-1-941040-75-1
Pub Date:
09/12/2017
List Price:
$19.95
Page Count:
288
ISBN:
978-1-941040-76-8
Pub Date:
09/12/2017
List Price:
$19.95
Page Count:
288

From the author of The Celestials, a collection of stories that will appeal to readers of Lucia Berlin, Mary Gaitskill, and Mia Alvar.

Bold and unapologetic, Karen Shepard’s Kiss Me Someone is inhabited by women who walk the line between various states: adolescence and adulthood, stability and uncertainty, selfishness and compassion. They navigate the obstacles that come with mixed-race identity and instabilities in social class, and they use their liminal positions to leverage power. They employ rage and tenderness and logic and sex, but for all of their rationality they’re drawn to self-destructive behavior. Shepard’s stories explore what we do to lessen our burdens of sadness and isolation; her characters, fiercely true to themselves, are caught between their desire to move beyond their isolation and a fear that it’s exactly where they belong.

Praise

  • “There is such a wondrous variety in these highly accomplished stories. They are rich with invention, with acute (sometimes alarming) awareness, dazzling insight, and pure, word virtuosity.”

    —Richard Ford

  • “In this captivating collection of stories, Karen Shepard turns her ever keen eye on women, and in her gaze is both love and a startling clarity. Readers of all kinds will find much to relish in this voice— from its storytelling surprises to the insights and sharp observations it extends, over and over, to us on the other side of the page.”

    —Aimee Bender

  • “A sharp and memorable collection.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Shepard is so perceptive, we feel as if we are part of the scene ourselves . . . These stories, and the characters that inhabit them, are so vivid, they will surely stay with readers for a good long while.”

    Booklist